Organizing My World!

"Old book bindings" by Tom Murphy VII - Own work. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons - http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Old_book_bindings.jpg#mediaviewer/File:Old_book_bindings.jpg

“Old book bindings” by Tom Murphy VII – Own work. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons – http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Old_book_bindings.jpg#mediaviewer/File:Old_book_bindings.jpg

I have decided to mold my cyclical, undisciplined mind into linear, organized behaviours!  I have been watching the archived videos from the RootsTech 2015 Genealogy Conference and this morning was inspired by Thomas MacEntee’s seminar on the Genealogy Toolbox.  I will be the first to admit that I have good intentions of being organized in all aspects of my life and I strive to be so yet am still hopelessly scattered in many respects!  I often blame it on my 3 children, my 7 pets…Oh and, of course, my husband!  A reorganized cupboard or closet becomes a disastrous jumble, a tidy room becomes a cyclone, and a system which has “a place for everything and everything in its place” soon becomes a system of chaos where nothing is in its place!  My children are busy, masters of destruction!

Unfortunately, other than my lack of time to account for, I really cannot pass the blame when it comes to my disorganized computer files!  A hodgepodge of bookmarked links and word document lists, lumped photo files and un-categorized downloads–I truly needed an intervention or at least a push in the right direction.  I was wasting time searching for sites I had discovered “once upon a time” in a land without recall; I was dithering from one list, folder, or program to another looking for where I might have saved links or tools I required; and I was frustrated.

Taking this evening to create a Genealogy Toolkit is just one step I am taking to change my scattered ways!  Thomas MacEntee presented several fabulous possibilities for “containers” to house those handy and sometimes crucial online links in an organized fashion.  I decided that Evernote appeared to be the most beautiful organizational tool–I loved the way it looked, the way things could be sorted, accessible, and shared!  HOWEVER, I have yet to understand how to properly use Evernote and get it to do what I want it to.  Yes, I can be technologically challenged!  Instead of giving up entirely however I learned that one can export Google Chrome Bookmarks into Evernote so thought why not start in Google Chrome Bookmarks?  I already understand how I can label and sort links into folders in Bookmarks and I can export them as I learn more about using Evernote.

Ta da!  I now have a GenealoSteamer_Trunk_Drawinggy Toolbox compiled from Thomas MacEntee’s shared Toolbox, Cyndi’s List, my existing links and bookmarks, and several new ones I happened across in my usual internet research forays.  I also took a step toward progress by joining the Facebook Group Evernote for Genealogy which I will hopefully find the time to visit for help in the future to convert my Toolbox!

post signature

Leave a Reply

