Like a Kid in a Candy Store!: Find My Past Free Weekend

FindMyPast

Excitedly exploring Find My Past for FREE!!  I have always been an Ancestry subscriber and, though I know different sites house a variety of exclusive records, subscriptions can stretch the purse strings.  I love that I have the opportunity to explore the records.  I’ve already found a copy of a Prison Register for my Black Sheep, and some great newspaper articles.  Like a kid in a candy store I am overwhelmed!

Of course for those just starting out it is important to mention that many subscription sites offer free trials, the odd free weekend or holiday, and various discounts.One of the best ways to earn a discount on your ancestry subscription is to volunteer to be part of the World Archives Project.  Transcribing records for this project online can qualify you for a discount on your annual ancestry renewal if you are active. Don’t forget free sites as Family Search which can be a fabulous start for your online tree and another wonderful record source.

post signature

One thought on “Like a Kid in a Candy Store!: Find My Past Free Weekend

  1. I didn’t know that ancestry.com gave discounts to people who transcribed records for the World Archives Project. That’s good to know and pass on. I was accessing the website through a library that had a donated subscription, but that expired, and I have since found many other trails to follow.

    The FindMyPast.com offer is very tempting. Now, what can I put off for a few days…

    Like

Leave a Reply

